The ERASMUS+ program supports the cross-border mobility of students, lecturers and other university staff all over Europe

ERASMUS programmes in participating countries are open not only to Germans and German nationals, but also to citizens of other countries who are undertaking (full-time) studies at the Saar University of Music leading to a recognised qualification. Exchange and visiting students are not entitled to ERASMUS grants.

Students in the first year of their university studies are not eligible for funding (this does not apply to master’s students). Repeated funding is permitted in principle, but priority will be given to those who have not yet completed an ERASMUS exchange.
Student mobility grants can be awarded for a minimum period of three months and a maximum of twelve months. A few exceptions to this are the trimesters or terms offered by some participating countries, which are often shorter than the minimum three-month period.

What are the benefits of ERASMUS+ for students?
A simplified procedure for applying to the host university (you will not generally have to take an aptitude test at the partner university, with the only requirement being a demo recording with around 15-20 minutes of music. In some cases there will be the possibility of an audition in person with the chosen professor, which can significantly increase the chances of the application being successful. The decision regarding whether to accept a candidate ultimately lies with the host university).

  • Exemption from any tuition fees
  • A monthly grant towards subsistence costs abroad
  • You can apply for a BAföG grant for studies abroad, which does not have to be repaid
  • You can apply for a grant for an intensive preparatory language course if you are going to a country that speaks a lesser-used language
  • Mutual recognition of academic achievement is ensured between universities which have a bilateral agreement (where established in the learning agreement before studies are begun)

Application deadlines

Mobility applications should be submitted to the Erasmus+ coordinator by 31 January before the beginning of the academic year in which the desired exchange period is to be undertaken. In extraordinary cases the deadline can be prolonged.

Further information for Incomings

Liability clause
This project was funded with the support of the European Commission. Responsibility for the content of this publication lies solely with the author; the Commission accepts no liability for any use which may be made of the information contained therein

Further information and advice about ERASMUS mobility schemes is also available from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

Nationale Agentur für EU-Hochschulzusammenarbeit
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn

Tel.: +49(0)228/882-8877
Fax: +49(0)228/882-555

Further information for Incomings



Frau (Mrs.) Susanne Rech
(ERASMUS+ Koordinatorin)
Raum 234
+49 (0) 681 96731-16

Head of International Office:
Prof. Jörg Nonnweiler (Rektor)


ERASMUS+ Charta HfM Saar (de)
ERASMUS+ Charta HfM Saar (en)

ERASMUS+ Policy Statement der HfM Saar

International partner institutions